KOTA KINABALU: Tan Sri Sukarti Wakiman has been reappointed as Sabah Public Service Commission (SPANS) chairman.

According to a statement from the Chief Minister’s Department’s Media and Communications Office on Wednesday (July 3), former state secretary Sukarti will serve a three-year term at SPANS effective July 1.

Former district officer Datuk Stephen Laison Sondoh was appointed SPANS deputy chairman, replacing Datuk Cladius Roman.

Of the seven SPANS members appointed, two are new faces – Datuk Patrick Tan Su Teck and Luvita Koisun.

The five reappointed members are Datuk Idrus Shafie, Datuk Janet Chee Ken Liam, Awang Jami @ Awang Shamsi, Ariffin Gadait and Iman Ali.

They received their appointment letters from Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor at his office in Menara Kinabalu here on Wednesday.

Also present were State Secretary Datuk Seri Safar Untong, state Public Service Department director-general Datuk Zainudin Aman and SPANS secretary Diana Daria Amit.